Isolated between the fields and the woods on the outskirts of the charming rural village of Siniga (Grignaghe di Pisogne), the small church dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul was already documented in 1469. An image of St. Peter sitting in the cathedral was registered in 1578, but the work is now no longer traceable, the same applies to many frescoes that were described as profane by Mons. Marco Morosini in 1692 who ordered them to be covered.
The exterior, a 15th Century layout is very simple and is fully plastered. The interior has a single nave divided into bays with pointed arches and a flat roof which was probably restructured in the 18th Century, as recorded by an inscription executed in 1730. The sanctuary is quadrangular in shape and covered by a cross vault. The frontal is wood: in the central portion there is a painting of the tiara with the palms of martyrdom, attributed to St. Peter; the late-baroque frame (18th Century) is also in wood and adorns the modest 17th Century painting of the Madonna and Child with Saints Peter and Paul. In the ceiling of the nave there are two plaster medallions which form a frame for two major frescoes, perhaps the work of Domenico Voltolini, with the Immaculate Conception and the Christ giving the Keys to St. Peter; the latter compromised by degradation and clumsy attempts to make further additions. The artist of the two paintings with the Angel of the Annunciation and the Annunciation is still unknown with a suggestive compositional late mannerist influence.
For more information:
BERTOLINI A., PANAZZA G., Arte in Val Camonica. Monumenti e opere, vol. III, parte 2^, Brescia 1994, pp. 584-593.
Credits: the_field('crediti'); ?> endif; ?>